Book Haul

Books, I love them!

Since I’ve learnt reading I’ve been getting my hands on all sort of books that take my fancy. (Does this make sense in English? Someone let me know.) Anyways, moving to UK have opened the world of books even more for me with the availability of second hand offerings. It has allowed me to own books and have them on my personal shelves for as little as few pounds. Where I come from books are quite expensive and when I moved to UK second hand book shops did not exist there yet therefore only after the move I could fulfill my first for books which could sit on my shelves for ever without the need to return them to a library or someone else. Time to time I like to go into charity shops and see if they have anything that I could carry back home with me. In the past few weeks I feel I had a turn of luck and found quite a few books that I have wanted to read for a while which without a doubt ended up with me. So please welcome the new additions to my book shelves:

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green – I’ve seen the movie and it has moved me a lot. (See what I did there? No?) I now want to read the story as it was written and see if it’s as great as a lot of people have said it is. I do hope that it will not make me cry too much because when I was watching the film I was that one crazy girl in the cinema who could not stop crying for nearly the whole movie. I should prepare some napkins just in case…

Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer – A westerner travels to Ukraine in search of a woman who has saved his grandparents life from Nazis. That was enough to know about the plot for me to pick up the book. Apparently there is even a movie based on this book which I haven’t seen so I’m very excited to read it and if it’s good then I will have to watch the cinema adaptation too. Naturally…

The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer – This book is a story about a persons fall into mental illness. I cannot imagine what it could be like to have to deal with mental illness and I hope the book will give me a better insight about it.

A Tiny Bit Marvellous by Dawn French – Ahh… Dawn… I love this lady and her humour. That’s all. That’s why I got the book. Because of Dawn. Ahh… Dawn…

One Day by David Nicholls – The book covers two peoples lives but only by looking into one day of each year. Where would you be on the same day next year and the year after? I found this concept very interesting and I will have to see if it works out well.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn – First of all let’s ignore the fact that a movie adaptation of this book is coming out this coming October. I did not know that when I got this book. Though I must say that now I feel pressured to read this book first in order to be prepared for the film. So the book is about someones wife disappearing and the husband starting to become the suspect for it. I’ve recently heard that the end of the book is not that great but I don’t know any details and will have to see it for myself.

The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling – I’m a big Harry Potter fan. The books has got nothing to do with HP but I just wanted to see how Rowling writes when it’s not about magic.

In a few weeks I have managed to haul quite a few books home and I’m super excited to know that I have quite a few hours ahead of me of reading. Let me know if you would like me to do some small book reviews once I finish reading each of them. Otherwise you will find my evaluation for the books on Goodreads (which you can see on the right hand side on my blog).

Have you read these books? Have you any books to recommend?

Winter In a Dream
4 thoughts on “Book Haul

Leave a Reply

